I Write Like…

29 Jul

From time to time, we stumble upon gems in the online universe which delight us in varied ways.  Here’s a recent find from the Associated Press:  I Write Like.

Ever wonder which of the famous writers you write like?  Try entering a few paragraphs from your own blog or an essay you’ve written in the past, click the “Analyze” button, and voila!  You’ll get a badge telling which of literature royalties you share techniques with.

I got a kick out of sampling my previous articles as it returned different names each time, including Dan Brown, Isaac Asimov, and Edgar Allan Poe!  This will surely make my mama proud!  Haha!  But out of 10 tries,  one name came out more frequently than those I mentioned…

I write like
Cory Doctorow

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

And who on earth is Cory Doctor who?

My search revealed some interesting information about the writer-I-write-like.  He is a famous writer of science fiction (which explains why he sounds alien to me), Canadian, and was born on the same decade as I was.  He is an advocate of liberalizing copyright laws and he hates the iPad, because to him “if you cannot open it, it’s not yours.”  He has also won awards for his novels and is an active blogger. Wikipedia details more about Cory and I would like to believe that despite some dissimilarities (I am OK with the iPad, btw) there is an uncanny resemblance between us.  Try reading the wikipedia entry on him to see what I mean.  Hehe…  And to finally satiate my curiosity in him who I-write-like, I downloaded electronic copies of three books he has written and lined them up on the To-Read shelf on my iPad.  True to his principles, his books are electronically available and free, as long you don’t use it for commercial purposes.

I Write Like’s blog entry on July 21 says it has already received 1,000,000 hits.  I am not surprised at all.  For all it’s limitations and laughable results, it is still fun to try.  And more importantly, it seeks to celebrate the writers, the skill, and the passion that goes into it.

The AP article tells more about the website and it’s creator.  The article shares, too, that Lady Gaga’s irreverent song, Alejandro, bears resemblance to Shakepeare’s technique.  I wonder if it’s Sonnet 114 that it refers to.  😀

2 Responses to “I Write Like…”

  1. Nena July 30, 2010 at 11:34 AM #

    i write daw like Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. an American novelist who wrote works blending satire, black comedy, and science fiction, such as Slaughterhouse-Five (1969), Cat’s Cradle (1963), and Breakfast of Champions (1973). He was known for his humanist beliefs as well as being honorary president of the American Humanist Association. He is widely considered one of the most influential American writers of the 20th century.[2]. Wow! may pag-asa pala akong maging influential writer hahahah; thanks for sharing!

    • Butch July 30, 2010 at 6:17 PM #

      Hehe.. Ilabas na ang pluma at simulan na ang paghubog na kaisipan ng madla. Maraming salamat sa pagbisita, ms. Nena!

What do you think?

