Lilipad Na. 30.09.2010

29 Sep

My work e-mail status message for this week reads, “Lilipad Na. 30.09.2010”.*  It attracted attention from those who cared enough to read it but contrary to what some surmised it to be, it’s not a declaration of some sort and I am certainly not flying out of town/country (at least in next two months).  It’s more like lilipad na ang mga ideas na matagal ko nang niluluto sa utak ko.  It’s a deadline I set for myself to finally act on ideas that have long been in the pipe line, in the hope that it could inject newness or revitalize my old routine.  Sorry but no specifics for now.

Interestingly, on the eve of the paglipad, I discovered two new things which made matters more exciting and romantic.

Today’s the feast of Archangels Michael, Gabriel and Raphael.  I stumbled upon this piece of information from a tweet by Fr. Jboy Gonzales, SJ.  Along with the tweet is a link to an article he wrote on his blog site.  Of particular interest to me is Archangel Michael, who is often depicted as one mightily pinning down Satan in what seemed to be an epic battle between good and evil.  It matters not because I am a beer drinker (today’s also the 129th anniversary of San Miguel Corp.) but because I think of this image every time my faith is tested.  A statue, which I bought sometime in august, now sits in our altar at home to remind me to be steadfast in faith and pursue only that which is good.

St. Michael

Today’s also an Equilux (equal light).  This means that our day will be divided into 12 hours of day and 12 hours of night, almost exactly.  This phenomenon happens only twice a year, around the time of an Equinox (equal night).  After today, we’ll have longer nights and it will peak when we reach the day with the longest night known as December solstice (aka winter solstice for Westerners).  It will eventually even out again in the March Equinox and then longer days will follow, the highest point of which is called June solstice (aka summer solstice for Westerners). And then the cycle repeats.  I’ve always been awed like a kid by these phenomena.  A cosmic display of impermanence, a reminder that change is beautiful, and that it is supposed to get us moving and be on our feet all the time, otherwise we’d be goners.

(credit for the pic goes to darkskydiary.wordpress.com)

Lilipad na. 30.09.2010. Some of the changes are calculated but the others are not.  But who cares?  More than the new plans and ideas, it’s also my attitude towards the forthcoming changes that I am readying my self for.

The two occasions today bode well sa aking paglipad.  It’s a call to rotate and revolve, a challenge to stride greater lengths and improve.  To be better not just for the self but also for others.

*I borrowed “Lilipad Na” from the UP Pep Squad forum teasers for the September 12, 2010 competition.  You can tell, I am a big fan. hehe

One Response to “Lilipad Na. 30.09.2010”

  1. Arnold September 30, 2010 at 5:57 PM #

    lipad lang nang lipad. Don’t let others to stop you, kahit brother pa siya.

What do you think?

