Smart Covers

17 Apr

It was during a long road trip along the coast of Northern Samar in 2010 that I registered my disapproval of bastardized songs–those songs that were rendered in acoustic-ky or jazzy sounds that just don’t come out right. These Cover versions, like the CD that was playing in the car back then, I called inakustik and jinazz.

And the Philippine music industry it seems can no longer get by with original compositions. This opinion comes from the observation that the OPM section in our local music stores are filled with cover versions by just about anyone who can carry a tune and has spare time. Never mind the art and the passion for craft that are supposed to come with it.

But don’t get me wrong. What do I know about good music? But from what little musicality i have in me (I was crowned videoke champion twice in 2011. Ahem.) there are covers that work quite real good and even surpass the original in terms of appeal and creativity. I liked some covers in Glee and Kitchen Musical. I also like those that I accidentally discovered in YouTube. Pomplamoose calls it VideoSongs, a medium that they define by two rules:

  1. What you see is what you hear. (No lip-syncing for instruments or voice)
  2. If you hear it, at some point you see it. (No hidden sounds)

I like that sort. I call it Smart Covers. What gets me hooked is the fascination over the artists’ musicality and unconventionality. It’s like they know sounds, good sounds, and they turn it into wonderful creations that just connects with you for some reasons.

Well anyway here’s a recent find which I saw on Ellen: Walk Off the Earth. They create videosongs and they are really entertaining. Below is a sampling of their creation. I chose these two in particular because both remind me deeply of two significant persons in my life: the big bad ex and the hopelessly devoted. Enjoy!

By the way, I covered Bikining Itim last year but that’s another story. 😀

What do you think?

