Of color wheels in daily living

2 Aug

I took Art in Daily Living (CTRA 13) in 1998, under Dean Lydia B. Arribas, former Dean of the UP College of Home Economics. It’s a foundational class required in the BS Home Economics Ed curriculum.

CTRA Classes then were held in a decrepit one-story building. The building was so infirm that its foundations would come down should a significant quake come upon us. And I’m not making that up. Dean Arribas told us so on Day 1. But then again, it’s as if we had a choice. The building’s foundation may be weak but Dean Arribas was anything but.

It was in her class that I finally understood the color wheel. I’m not joking. And by understanding I meant not just knowing primary and secondary colours and how they complement but more importantly making sense of it in real life. From it I became conscious of composition, that you don’t just juxtapose two things randomly, and when you have too many of one thing beauty can still be achieved through hues.

Her constant reminder for us to be aware of our surroundings and to create and seek beauty in the lines and patterns around us were also indelible. Honestly, after I heard her talk about the building’s condition it wasn’t really hard for me to be conscious of the things found in the room, especially those that could increase my chances of survival should the building crumble: exits, strong beams, etc.

That class also started my penchant for collecting anything for the sake of arts and crafts: stones, twigs, bookmarks, coasters, plastic bottles, and even things not fit to be mentioned here. I was this close to having a career as a junk-ie but then again when my board mates started asking me why I kept a pile of trash in our room, I found it hard to explain my method to non-believers. Sorry, Dean.

Nothing better proved my enjoyment in her class than having my art projects stowed in a box in my room as long as I could (until termites saw practical use for them in 2008–subject of a previous blog entry). My obras are really comparable to a grade schooler’s work but they bore her signature, some comments, and  grades that only went to as low as 2.5, never a 3.0 (pasang awa). These led me to believe that she was one of the few that really understood my method (to madness).

I had so much fun in the class and  I survived the building’s imminent threat of reducing us to rubble. But most of all, the blessing was Dean Arribas handling the class. I will always remember her as that small, gentle lady with a big smile and burning passion for her profession as she nurtured generations of graduates of the UP College of Home Economics.

Former UP CHE Dean, Dean Adelaida V. Mayo, together with Dean Lydia B. Arribas.
(photo was reprinted with permission from Dean Mayo)

Together with Fr. Nudas, please greet me at the pearly gates when my time to go there has come. I am not sure if I can bring any of my existing collections but I have stories of how you helped enrich my life while living… and I am sure that the place where we’ll sit there is waaay better than the ones we had back then in UP.

6 Responses to “Of color wheels in daily living”

  1. Gwen Lily Arribas-Benitez August 4, 2012 at 1:23 PM #

    Thank you for your beautiful tribute. Dean Lydia Arribas is my dear departed mother. I was wondering if we could have someone read your tribute during my mother’s Memorial Service on August 12 AFTER the 10-11 a.m. Worship Servce at the Church of the Risen Lord, UP Campus. Or better still, it would be an honor if you could read it to the congregation yourself, that is, if you would want to speak in behalf of all her former students. Please send me your reply through my email address.

  2. jae August 3, 2012 at 8:38 PM #

    Now I understand where your idea of survival kit came from. That’s what you gave us as remembrance, and even if it invited dust, i would still remember such artistic piece of mind… =)

  3. lesles August 3, 2012 at 8:00 PM #

    i am still a non-believer of your junk!! haha! thanks to dean arribas, at least you gained a sense of art.. a little sense of art.

  4. SoEul-deprived August 3, 2012 at 6:36 AM #

    Thank you for your wonderful tribute to Dean Arribas. She was like a true mother to me. I can relate to everything that you said since she was also my teacher and adviser in many ways. I had this strong attachment to her because she was the one who invited me to teach in UP College of Home Economics and that started a productive and fruitful life for me. Again, thank you.

    • Butch August 3, 2012 at 1:41 PM #

      You’re welcome. And thank you for sharing. 🙂

  5. Arn August 2, 2012 at 6:45 PM #

    Our teachers leave a mark in us. Bless their souls. I hope to leave a mark too in my students’ lives.

What do you think?

